Are you waiting for motivation? Well, don’t.

Are you waiting for motivation? Well, don’t.

Somehow we all are stuck in that infinite loop of that one song, unable to proceed forward. With thousands of thoughts blending into one, that brings us to a still, preventing us from moving on.

Sometimes I find myself lying in bed awake, yet unable to move, numbed by a single thought, “I lack motivation.”

Hence, all my deadlines and goals are put on hold because I reassure myself that I lack the motivation to work.

The time slips while I lie in bed, waiting for my mere inspiration to find me and when it doesn’t, I tell myself I have the next day.

Without realizing it, days turn into weeks, and weeks in months, and the veil of lethargy has engulfed me, and I can’t find my way out.

Why do we let motivation drive us?

I guess it’s easier to focus on the results — PASS OR FAIL is the only category we concentrate on; hence somehow, we solace ourselves; it’s the motivation that gets us the outcomes.

Photo by Felix Mittermeier on UnsplashPhoto by Felix Mittermeier on Unsplash

Thus we feel it’s valid to postpone the deadlines, the goals, and everything else; while we get entangled inside the noise of succumbed motivation. So the question is: Is motivation a myth?

After a series of weeks of lying in bed and apprehending that it’s not the obligation of the motivation to inspire me, it’s to be consistent.

Consistent actions, habits, practices separate the exceptional from the mediocre.

The fact is that being consistent is challenging and requires a lot of self-awareness as to what you want in life. No one has an endless reserve of passion or motivation. So we take the effortless way out, and rather than being consistent with the actions we need to take to develop, we succumb to motivation. A task becomes boring when it’s performed regularly, and those who do it, even when it’s monotonous, become the success legends we see on television. As honestly said, “Boredom is perhaps the greatest villain on the quest of self-improvement.”

Photo by [Nubelson Fernandes](https://cdn.hashnode.com/res/hashnode/image/upload/v1614541620246/g3hS22-9x.html) on [Unsplash](https://unsplash.com?utm_source=medium&utm_medium=referral)Photo by Nubelson Fernandes on Unsplash

In the book Atomic Habits, the author talks about how even successful people experience a lack of motivation, despite that they show up. He urges the readers that one needs to fall in love with boredom when the outcome becomes expected. He talks about showing up and talks about how professionals stick to schedule and amateurs let life in the way.

The world has become over-socialized, filled with noises of every opinion; you don’t have to follow the norms to survive.

Don’t waste your time waiting for that surge of motivation to hit you.

Photo by Justin Veenema on UnsplashPhoto by Justin Veenema on Unsplash